All Athletics Menu

IAAF Competitions

2001 IAAF Golden League - Overview

2001 IAAF Golden League


The 2001 IAAF Golden League was the fourth edition of the annual international track and field meeting series, held from 29 June to 31 August. It was contested at seven European meetings: the Golden Gala, Meeting Gaz de France, Bislett Games, Herculis, Weltklasse Zürich, Memorial Van Damme and the Internationales Stadionfest (ISTAF).

The Golden League jackpot consisted of one million US dollars' worth of gold bars. The jackpot was available to athletes who won at least five of the seven competitions of the series in one of the fourteen specified events (8 for men, 6 for women). The jackpot events for 2001 were:

  • Men: 100 m, 800 m, 1500 m, 3000 m, 3000 m steeplechase, 110 m hurdles, long jump, javelin throw
  • Women: 100 m, 800 m, 1500 m, 3000 m, 400 m hurdles, high jump

The jackpot winners were Hicham El Guerrouj of Morocco, Switzerland's André Bucher, Americans Allen Johnson and Marion Jones, Romania's Violeta Szekely and Olga Yegorova of Russia. Szekely won all seven of the 1,500-metre races, while the other athletes won the minimum of five. Marion Jones's results were later annulled after she admitted to doping.



Event Golden Gala
29 June
Meeting Gaz de France
6 July
Bislett Games
13 July
20 July
Weltklasse Zürich
17 August
Memorial Van Damme
24 August
31 August
100 m  Maurice Greene (USA)  Maurice Greene (USA)  Tim Montgomery (USA)  Bernard Williams (USA)  Tim Montgomery (USA)  Tim Montgomery (USA)  Francis Obikwelu (NGR)
200 m  Bernard Williams (USA)  J. J. Johnson (USA)
800 m  André Bucher (SUI)  André Bucher (SUI)  Wilfred Bungei (KEN)  André Bucher (SUI)  André Bucher (SUI)  Yuriy Borzakovskiy (RUS)  André Bucher (SUI)
1500 m
Mile run
2000 m
 Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR)  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR)  Ali Saïdi-Sief (ALG)  Rui Silva (POR)  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR)  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR)  Hicham El Guerrouj (MAR)
3000 m
5000 m
 Hailu Mekonnen (ETH)  Luke Kipkosgei (KEN)  Paul Bitok (KEN)  Paul Bitok (KEN)  Richard Limo (KEN)  Hailu Mekonnen (ETH)  Paul Bitok (KEN)
10,000 m  Mark Bett (KEN)
3000 m s'chase  Reuben Kosgei (KEN)  Wilson Boit Kipketer (KEN)  Wilson Boit Kipketer (KEN)  Wilson Boit Kipketer (KEN)  Brahim Boulami (MAR)  Brahim Boulami (MAR)  Stephen Cherono (KEN)
110 m hurdles  Colin Jackson (GBR)  Allen Johnson (USA)  Allen Johnson (USA)  Allen Johnson (USA)  Allen Johnson (USA)  Anier Garcia (CUB)  Allen Johnson (USA)
400 m hurdles  James Carter (USA)  Angelo Taylor (USA)  Felix Sánchez (DOM)  Felix Sánchez (DOM)
Pole vault  Viktor Chistyakov (AUS)  Dmitriy Markov (AUS)  Jeff Hartwig (USA)  Jeff Hartwig (USA)
Long jump  Kevin Dilworth (USA)  Ivan Pedroso (CUB)  Kevin Dilworth (USA)  Danila Burkenya (RUS)  Kevin Dilworth (USA)  Savante Stringfellow (USA)  Ivan Pedroso (CUB)
Shot put  Bradley Snyder (CAN)
Discus throw  Virgilijus Alekna (LTU)  Lars Riedel (GER)
Javelin throw  Konstadinós Gatsioúdis (GRE)  Konstadinós Gatsioúdis (GRE)  Peter Blank (GER)  Pål Arne Fagernes (NOR)  Raymond Hecht (GER)  Jan Železný (CZE)  Jan Železný (CZE)
Hammer throw  Koji Murofushi (JPN)
100 m  Marion Jones (USA)  Marion Jones (USA)  Marion Jones (USA)  Chryste Gaines (USA)  Marion Jones (USA)  Marion Jones (USA)  Myriam Léonie Mani (CMR)
200 m  Beverly McDonald (JAM)
400 m  Ana Guevara (MEX)  Grit Breuer (GER)
800 m  Stephanie Graf (AUT)  Stephanie Graf (AUT)  Stephanie Graf (AUT)  Maria Mutola (MOZ)  Maria Mutola (MOZ)  Stephanie Graf (AUT)  Maria Mutola (MOZ)
1500 m  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)  Violeta Szekely (ROM)
3000 m
5000 m
 Olga Yegorova (RUS)  Olga Yegorova (RUS)  Edith Masai (KEN)  Edith Masai (KEN)  Olga Yegorova (RUS)  Olga Yegorova (RUS)  Olga Yegorova (RUS)
100 m hurdles  Jenny Adams (USA)  Olga Shishigina (KAZ)  Gail Devers (USA)
400 m hurdles  Nezha Bidouane (MAR)  Tetiana Tereshchuk-Antipova (UKR)  Tetiana Tereshchuk-Antipova (UKR)  Daimí Pernía (CUB)  Nezha Bidouane (MAR)  Nezha Bidouane (MAR)  Yuliya Nosova (RUS)
Pole vault  Svetlana Feofanova (RUS)
High jump  Kajsa Bergqvist (SWE)  Venelina Veneva (BUL)  Inha Babakova (UKR)  Kajsa Bergqvist (SWE)  Hestrie Cloete (RSA)  Vita Palamar (UKR)  Kajsa Bergqvist (SWE)
Long jump  Tatyana Kotova (RUS)  Eunice Barber (FRA)
Hammer throw  Dawn Ellerbe (USA)


In 1998, the IAAF created the IAAF Golden League, which was developed as a concept to unify the elite individual Meetings held in Europe.

The IAAF Golden League, comprising seven Meetings rich in athletics tradition, will be held at the height of the athletics season. For competing athletes, the concept is simple: win your IAAF Golden League discipline at five IAAF Golden League Meetings for a share of the IAAF Golden League Jackpot of 50 kilos of gold ingots.

Golden League Jackpot Winners

2000 Gail Devers (100m Hurdles), Trine Hattestad (Javelin), Tatyana Kotova (Long Jump)
1999 Gabriela Szabo (3000m), Wilson Kipketer (800m)
1998 Marion Jones (100m), Hicham El Guerrouj (1500m), Haile Gebrselassie (5000m/10,000m
  1. 1. Structure

The Golden League will consist of seven meetings and the IAAF Grand Prix Final in 2001.

Golden Gala Rome Friday 29 June
Meeting Gaz de France Paris St-Denis Friday 6 July
Exxon Mobil Bislett Games Oslo Friday 13 July
Herculis Monaco Friday 20 July
Weltklasse Zurich Friday 17 August
Memorial Van Damme Brussels Friday 24 August
ISTAF Berlin Friday 31 August
IAAF Grand Prix Final Melbourne Sunday 9 September
  1. 2. Golden League Events
    All meetings must comply with IAAF Competition Rules and Regulations.  

Fourteen Golden League events have been designated for 2001 (eight for men and six for women):
Men:  100m, 800m, 1500m, 3000m, 3000m Steeplechase, 110m Hurdles, Long Jump, Javelin Throw
Women: 100m, 800m, 1500m, 3000m, 400m Hurdles, High Jump

The fourteen Golden League events are divided in two categories:

- 7 “Premium” Events:
Men: 100m, 800m, 1500 or Mile, 3000m or 5000m
Women: 100m, 800m, 3000m or 5000m

-7 “Classic” Events
Men: 110m Hurdles, 3000m SC, Javelin Throw, Long Jump
Women: 1500m or Mile, 400m Hurdles, High Jump 

In addition to these Golden League events, each Golden League meeting shall stage five or six additional events called “Promotional” Events, which shall not be the same in all seven meetings. 

  1. 3. Scoring
    The scoring system of the IAAF Golden League, IAAF Grand Prix and IAAF Grand Prix II meetings is as follows:
Place IAAF Golden League IAAF Grand Prix IAAF Grand Prix II
1st 12 8 5
2nd 10 7 4
3rd 9 6 3
4th 8 5 2
5th 7 4 1
6th 6 3  
7th 5 2  
8th 4 1  
  1. 4. Prize Money Structure
    TheThe Prize Money structure for the IAAF Golden League meetings will be as follows:

“Premium” Events

“Classic” Events

1st €15,000 1st €7,500
2nd €12,000 2nd €6,000
3rd €8,000 3rd €4,000
4th €5,000 4th €2,500
5th €4,000 5th €2,000
6th €2,500 6th €1,250
7th €2,000 7th €1,000
8th €1,500 8th €750

A bonus of €50,000 shall be awarded by the organisers to any athlete breaking a World Record in any of the Golden League events in a Golden League meeting.

A Golden League Jackpot of 50 Kg in Gold Ingots shall be divided equally between all athletes winning the same Golden League event in five out of the seven Golden League meetings, and taking part in the IAAF Grand Prix Final and Gala.
A system of gold colored bibs will be used to identify athletes still in contention for the IAAF Golden League jackpot.

  1. Management
    The IAAF Golden League is a registered mark of the IAAF. A Working Group has been established to manage the IAAF Golden League meetings and structure.


Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events


You are here: Home Athletics Competitions IAAF Competitions IAAF Golden League 2001 IAAF Golden League - Overview