All Athletics Menu

2005 World Championships in Athletics Helsinki, Finland

2005 10th IAAF World Championships - Helsinki - Men's 20km Race Walk



Host City: Helsinki, Finland  
Dates: 6–14 August 2005  
Nations participating: 196  
Athletes participating: 1,891  
    Main venue: Helsinki Olympic Stadium
Overview by IAAF   Helsinki Olympic Stadium
Fernández led for the first three quarters of the race, with 5Km splits of 19:47, 19:44 (39:31) and 19:39 (59:10). A bunch of 14 were together at the halfway point, but six of these, including 2001 champion Ilya Markov, would be disqualified for “lifting.” At the 15Km mark, Fernandez was tracked by defending champion Pérez, with Molina and Saquipay, who was one of the disqualified, 12 seconds behind. Pérez made his break shortly after, and finished with progressively faster 5Km splits, covering the last in 19:25 to finish more than a minute clear of Fernandez. Mexican Eder Sánchez set a unofficial world junior best at 10Km walk with his halfway time of 39:32.
 The Men's 20 km race walk event at the 2005 World Championships in Athletics was held on August 6 in the streets of Helsinki with the start at 18:40h local time, and the goal line situated in the Helsinki Olympic Stadium.


Standing records prior to the 2005 World Athletics Championships
World Record  Jefferson Pérez (ECU) 1:17.21 August 23, 2003 France Paris, France
Event Record
  20km Race Walk     6 August    

Event Report - Men 20km Walk Final

Perez retains his World title

Jefferson Perez clearly has what it takes to produce his best when it matters most. The 31-year-old Ecuadorian produced yet another impressive display of championships race walking to retain his 20km crown despite a determined challenge from Spain’s Francisco Fernandez who had to settle for silver for the second world championships in succession.

Perez made his name by winning the Olympic title back in 1996, and two years ago became world record holder when he added the World gold to his collection. But before this evening’s race he did not figure in this year’s top ten walkers and wasn’t expected to beat the hotly tipped Spaniard.

But Perez knows how to get it right at the crucial moment and won here in a season’s best of 1:18:35, more than a minute outside the world record he set in Paris in 2003, but 61 seconds ahead of Fernandez.

The bronze medal went to another Spaniard, Juan Manuel Molina who produced the race of his life to get on the podium, crossing the line in a personal best 1:19:44.

After racing stride for stride for a full lap, Perez broke away from Fernandez with a little over 4km remaining, rapidly opening up a decisive gap on the Spaniard that he extended to more than a minute by the time he entered the stadium. With 300m left to walk he allowed himself one anxious glance over his shoulder before lapping up the enthusiastic applause of the Finnish crowd.

Fernandez had a best time this year of 1:17:52 and, now coached by all-time walking great Robert Korzeniowski, was expected to be the man to beat. Perez used all his competitive experience, though, and walked a sensible race, staying just off the leaders in the early stages and covering Fernandez as he tried to push the pace with three quarters of the race gone.

The first significant break came from China’s Yu Chaohung who opened up a 15 metres lead after 10 minutes. Fernandez and Italy’s Olympic champion Ivano Brugnetti led the chase and they reeled him in within five minutes. Fernandez led a pack of 14 through 5km in 19:47.

After half an hour the leading contenders were Fernandez, Brugnetti, Perez and the two Chinese, although Yu had two warnings. They passed the half way mark in 39:32 (19:45, 5k split) shortly after Russia’s Ilya Markov, the 1999 champion, was disqualified. Yu’s elimination soon followed as Fernandez stepped it up again, reducing the pack to five by the time they passed 12km.

It was too much for Brugnetti who dropped out after 43 minutes and was seen vomiting on the side of the road, but Perez took up the challenge. It was clear the little man from Ecuador wasn’t going to give up his title easily. The gold and silver medallists two years ago, these two were now set to battle it out.

It seemed that Fernandez had the advantage as Perez had one warning and, indeed, it was the Spaniard who again took the initiative, leading through 15km in 59:10 (5k split 19:38), 10 seconds ahead of the chasing Molina and another Ecuadorian, Rolando Saquipay.

Saquipay was disqualified just as, further up the road, Perez made his timely move. It was too good for the Spanish pair and for the second time in a row Perez claimed the first gold medal of the IAAF World Championships.

1 Jefferson Pérez ECU 1 Jul 74 1.18.35    
2 Francisco Javier Fernández ESP 6 Mar 77 1.19.36    
3 Juan Manuel Molina ESP 15 Mar 79 1.19.44    
4 André Höhne GER 10 Mar 78 1.20.00    
5 Hatem Ghoula TUN 7 Jun 73 1.20.19    
6 Vladimir Stankin RUS 19 Feb 74 1.20.25    
7 Benjamin Kuciński POL 1 Jun 82 1.20.34    
8 Eder Sánchez MEX 21 May 86 1.20.45    
9 Zhu Hongjun CHN 18 Aug 83 1.21.01    
10 Luke Adams AUS 22 Oct 76 1.21.43    
11 Andriy Yurin UKR 20 Jan 84 1.22.15    
12 Luis Fernando López COL 3 Jun 79 1.22.28    
13 Erik Tysse NOR 4 Dec 80 1.22.45    
14 Lorenzo Civallero ITA 8 Aug 75 1.22.52    
15 Sérgio Galdino BRA 7 May 69 1.23.03    
16 Shin Il-Yong KOR 17 Feb 79 1.23.10    
17 Aigars Fadejevs LAT 27 Dec 75 1.23.12    
18 Jared Tallent AUS 17 Oct 84 1.23.42    
19 Silviu Casandra ROU 27 Oct 75 1.23.46    
20 Andrei Talashka BLR 31 May 82 1.23.52    
21 Matej Tóth SVK 10 Feb 83 1.23.55    
22 José Ignacio Díaz ESP 22 Nov 79 1.24.00    
23 Takayuki Tanii JPN 14 Feb 83 1.24.17    
24 Kamil Kalka POL 27 Jul 81 1.25.02    
25 Akihiro Sugimoto JPN 20 Oct 81 1.25.28    
26 Rafał Dyś POL 14 Jan 82 1.26.35    
27 Edwin Centeno PER 27 Jun 81 1.26.45    
28 Liu Yunfeng CHN 3 Aug 79 1.26.54    
29 Koichiro Morioka JPN 2 Apr 85 1.27.08    
30 John Nunn USA 3 Feb 78 1.27.10    
31 Tim Seaman USA 14 May 72 1.29.58    
32 Bengt Bengtsson SWE 4 Sep 61 1.30.10    
  Ilya Markov RUS 19 Jun 72 DQ    
  Bernardo Segura MEX 11 Feb 70 DQ    
  Ivan Trotski BLR 27 May 76 DQ    
  Yu Chaohong CHN 12 Dec 76 DQ    
  Cristian Berdeja MEX 21 Jun 81 DQ    
  Robert Heffernan IRL 20 Feb 78 DQ    
  Walter Sandoval ESA 16 Dec 84 DQ    
  Rolando Saquipay ECU 21 Jul 79 DQ    
  Ivano Brugnetti ITA 1 Sep 76 DNF    
  Viktor Burayev RUS 23 Aug 82 DNF    
  João Vieira POR 20 Feb 76 DNF    


Rank Number Athlete Time
1 227  Paquillo Fernández (ESP) 19:47
2 156  Yu Chaohong (CHN) 19:47
3 158  Zhu Hongjun (CHN) 19:47
4 832  Vladimir Stankin (RUS) 19:47
5 459  Ivano Brugnetti (ITA) 19:47
1 227  Paquillo Fernández (ESP) 39:31
2 459  Ivano Brugnetti (ITA) 39:32
3 158  Zhu Hongjun (CHN) 39:32
4 818  Ilya Markov (RUS) 39:32
5 210  Jefferson Pérez (ECU) 39:32
1 227  Paquillo Fernández (ESP) 59:10
2 210  Jefferson Pérez (ECU) 59:10
3 212  Rolando Saquipay (ECU) 59:22
4 240  Juan Manuel Molina (ESP) 59:23
5 158  Zhu Hongjun (CHN) 59:29




Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events


You are here: Home Athletics Competitions World Championships in Athletics 2005 World Championships in Athletics Helsinki, Finland 2005 10th IAAF World Championships - Helsinki - Men's 20km Race Walk