Olympic Games

Olympic Games - President of the Organising Committee for the Olympic Games

President of the Organising Committee for the Olympic Games

The President of the Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games is the individual who is in charge of leading the Organizing Committee for each Olympic Games.

Lists of presidents

Summer Olympic Games

President Game Host City Host Country Year
Constantine I of Greece Games of the I Olympiad Athens  Kingdom of Greece 1896
Pierre de Coubertin Games of the II Olympiad Paris  France 1900
David R. Francis Games of the III Olympiad St. Louis  United States 1904
Edward Battell Games of the IV Olympiad London  United Kingdom 1908
Sigfrid Edström Games of the V Olympiad Stockholm  Sweden 1912
Henri de Baillet-Latour Games of the VII Olympiad Antwerp  Belgium 1920
Pierre de Coubertin Games of the VIII Olympiad Paris  France 1924
Solko van den Bergh Games of the IX Olympiad Amsterdam  Netherlands 1928
George Bryant Games of the X Olympiad Los Angeles  United States 1932
Joseph Goebbels
Karl Ritter von Halt
Games of the XI Olympiad Berlin  Nazi Germany 1936
Lord Burghley Games of the XIV Olympiad London  United Kingdom 1948
Erik von Frenckell Games of the XV Olympiad Helsinki  Finland 1952
Wilfrid Kent Hughes Games of the XVI Olympiad Melbourne  Australia 1956
Giulio Andreotti Games of the XVII Olympiad Rome  Italy 1960
Daigoro Yasukawa [ja] Games of the XVIII Olympiad Tokyo  Japan 1964
Pedro Ramírez Vázquez Games of the XIX Olympiad Mexico City  Mexico 1968
Hans-Jochen Vogel Games of the XX Olympiad Munich  West Germany 1972
Jean Doré Games of the XXI Olympiad Montreal  Canada 1976
Konstantin Chernenko
(official representative Ignati Novikov [ru])
Games of the XXII Olympiad Moscow  Soviet Union 1980
Peter Ueberroth Games of the XXIII Olympiad Los Angeles  United States 1984
Kim Yong-shik
Roh Tae-woo
Park Seh-jik
Games of the XXIV Olympiad Seoul  South Korea 1988
Pasqual Maragall Games of the XXV Olympiad Barcelona  Spain 1992
Billy Payne Games of the XXVI Olympiad Atlanta  United States 1996
Michael Knight Games of the XXVII Olympiad Sydney  Australia 2000
Gianna Angelopoulos-Daskalaki Games of the XXVIII Olympiad Athens  Greece 2004
Liu Qi Games of the XXIX Olympiad Beijing  China 2008
Lord Sebastian Coe Games of the XXX Olympiad London  United Kingdom 2012
Carlos Arthur Nuzman Games of the XXXI Olympiad Rio de Janeiro  Brazil 2016
Yoshirō Mori Games of the XXXII Olympiad Tokyo  Japan 2020
Tony Estanguet Games of the XXXIII Olympiad Paris  France 2024
Casey Wasserman Games of the XXXIV Olympiad Los Angeles  United States 2028

Winter Olympic Games

President Game Host City Host Country Year
Pierre de Coubertin I Olympic Winter Games Chamonix  France 1924
Edmund Schulthess II Olympic Winter Games St Moritz   Switzerland 1928
Godfrey Dewey III Olympic Winter Games Lake Placid  United States 1932
Joseph Goebbels
Karl Ritter von Halt
IV Olympic Winter Games Garmisch-Partenkirchen  Nazi Germany 1936
Alfred Schläppi
Heinrich Schläppi
V Olympic Winter Games St. Moritz   Switzerland 1948
Haakon VII of Norway
Princess Astrid of Norway
Olaf Helset
VI Olympic Winter Games Oslo  Norway 1952
Enrico Colli VII Olympic Winter Games Cortina d'Ampezzo  Italy 1956
Prentis Cobb Hale VIII Olympic Winter Games Squaw Valley  United States 1960
Bruno Kreisky IX Olympic Winter Games Innsbruck  Austria 1964
Jean de Beaumont X Olympic Winter Games Grenoble  France 1968
Kōgorō Uemura XI Olympic Winter Games Sapporo  Japan 1972
Bruno Kreisky XII Olympic Winter Games Innsbruck  Austria 1976
Rev. J. Bernard Fell XIII Olympic Winter Games Lake Placid  United States 1980
Branko Mikulić XIV Olympic Winter Games Sarajevo  Yugoslavia 1984
Frank King XV Olympic Winter Games Calgary  Canada 1988
Jean-Claude Killy XVI Olympic Winter Games Albertville  France 1992
Gerhard Heiberg XVII Olympic Winter Games Lillehammer  Norway 1994
Eishiro Saito XVIII Olympic Winter Games Nagano  Japan 1998
Frank Joklik
Mitt Romney
XIX Olympic Winter Games Salt Lake City  United States 2002
Valentino Castellani XX Olympic Winter Games Turin  Italy 2006
John Furlong XXI Olympic Winter Games Vancouver  Canada 2010
Dmitry Chernyshenko XXII Olympic Winter Games Sochi  Russia 2014
Kim Jin-sun
Cho Yang-ho
Lee Hee-beom
XXIII Olympic Winter Games Pyeongchang  South Korea 2018
Guo Jinlong
Cai Qi
XXIV Olympic Winter Games Beijing  China 2022
Giovanni Malagò XXV Olympic Winter Games Milan-Cortina d'Ampezzo  Italy 2026

Other offices held

Presidents of the Olympic Organizing Committee have gone on to or have served in other high offices.

Joseph Goebbels who headed the organizing committees for the 1936 Winter Olympics and 1936 Summer Olympics served as Chancellor of Germany for one day in 1945 before committing suicide.

Konstantin Chernenko was the leader of the Soviet Union while also being the President of the OCOG.

Elected office

David R. Francis who headed the organizing committee for the 1904 Summer Olympics served as Governor of Missouri prior to heading the organizing committee. He later briefly served as the United States Ambassador to Russia.

Following the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City, Mitt Romney ran for Governor of Massachusetts and was elected Governor with nearly 50% of the vote in the election. He served one term as governor. He was the Republican nominee for President of the United States in the 2012 Presidential Election but lost to then-incumbent President Barack Obama. Sixteen years after the Winter Olympics, Romney would go on to elect Senator of the state of Utah following the vote in the election.

Yoshirō Mori who is the head of the organizing committee for the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo served as Prime Minister of Japan from 2000 to 2001.

Other sporting positions

Pierre de Coubertin who headed the organizing committees for the 1900 and 1924 Summer Olympics as well as the 1924 Winter Olympics was the founder of the modern Olympic movement and International Olympic Committee. He served as President of the International Olympic Committee from 1896 to 1925.

Peter Ueberroth who headed the organizing committee for the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles went on to serve as the Commissioner of Baseball from 1984 to 1989.

Sebastian Coe who headed the organizing committee for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London is now serving as the President of the International Association of Athletics Federations. He had also served as the Chairman of the British Olympic Association from 2012 to 2016.


Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events


You are here: Home Olympic Games All information about Olympics Olympic Games - President of the Organising Committee for the Olympic Games